muggle book award

The Goldfinch: January 2017 Muggle Book of the Month


Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
The Goldfinch, 1654 (oil on canvas), Carel Fabritius (1622-54)
Title: The Goldfinch

Author: Donna Tartt

Pages: 962 pages

Publisher: Little Brown and Company

ISBN: 978-0-316-28639-8

Cover Design: Kieth Hayes

Who is Donna Tartt? Tartt is an American writer who won reputable awards over the past few years. She received the WH Smith Literary Award for The Little Friend in 2003 and the Pulitzer Prize for fiction for The Goldfinch in 2014. She was also included in the list of the “100 Most Influential People” compiled by Time magazine in 2014. I read a lot of reviews about her work and style, indeed Tartt is one of the most talented authors we have today.

 Reference: Google

The Goldfinch is a story of a thirteen-year-old boy named Theo, who survived a terrorist attack that not only killed his mother but changed his life to an endless journey. At a young age Theo witnessed the cruelty of life, abandoned by his father, grief for the death of his mother and the appalling memory of the explosion that still haunts him every night. Bemused by his so called new life, Theo remembers to fulfill the task of the dying old man he met in the museum and was enraptured by an art piece that will bring him in to the world of art.

As I pushed back my glasses that hang loosely in my nose bridge, I finally admitted that this book was a real challenge, it’s been awhile since I read this thick! And I am very pleased with myself that I finished it despite the mixed reviews and humps I encountered because my friends, this book is very problematic. I remember reading a very exciting plot but I had to stop because I felt that my anxiety was rising up. I never felt so much worry in reading until I actually started reading this book. But it’s good and very convincing! My favorite part of this book was when Theo traveled from Las Vegas to New York hiding Popchik (his pupppy) in his bag. Dang! I cried! And also that part when the bus stops and he secretly let his dog ran and eat? Endured high fever and traveled sixty hours with the dog hiding in his lap! Wew! I cried buckets men! But good thing Tartt created Boris! It added spice! Wait! is that how you’re supposed to describe it? Well whatever! He was so funny! So thanks Tartt! I was able to save my tears.

Four thumbs up (👍) for this book, a highly recommended one! This is more than just a heavy book. There are so much more! Believe me. If you guys are looking for an award-winning novel, The Goldfinch is for you! No other words but simply “The Best.” Let us wait for the upcoming film adaptation then.

Leave a Reply

